Can You Keep a Secret?

can-you-keep-a-secret-sophie-kinsella-book-review-e1397764807140Emma Corrigan spills some of her funny and not so funny secrets on plane to a stranger.  

  • Secrets from her boyfriend: I’ve always thought Connor looks a bit like Ken. As in Barbie and Ken.
  • Secrets from her mother: I lost my virginity in the spare bedroom with Danny Nussbaum while Mum and Dad were downstairs watching Ben-Hur.
  • Secrets she wouldn’t share with anyone in the world: I have no idea what NATO stands for. Or even what it is.

The problem was that she did not just share her secrets with a stranger, she actually shared it with a CEO. Little does she know that she is going to be a part of that same company. Unfortunately, he now knows embarrassing secrets of Emma.

Sophie Kinsella again presents us with a hilarious protagonist, Emma. Emma is a sweet girl with a happy-go-lucky nature. There is a lot going on in her life: there is family drama which Emma is trying to solve, yet she has her own problems going on in her professional life. Emma’s character has a tendency to fall in awkward situations making her the funny protagonist. The way she managed situations was hilarious and I loved the conflicts between the characters, which was light-hearted and not that heavy. I adored Emma’s relationship between her parents and her sister. Kinsella does not make her readers wait to resolve the issues and that is what I like about Kinsella’s books that she knows how to keep her readers happy.

Speaking of romance, even though her romantic ideas resembles rom-com/chick-flicks, it’s always refreshing and one gets never bored of it. Kinsella’s books are not always about changing your life, but her books are supposed to be entertaining and filled with humour. Can you keep a secret? does a great job at being an enjoyable read. This book gives us a quirky main character, a strict boss and a crazy family, so the combination of these three elements makes it suitable for traveling or vacations. It’s a quick read and I guarantee you it will just make your day filled with laughter. (Big compliment: this is the recommendation in itself. I cannot recommend this book more than enough.)    

The final verdict is that I thoroughly enjoyed it. Kinsella never disappoints me which is why I gave this book 5/5 stars. It was a cute book and I adored every bit if it. So if you are in a reading slump or you’ve just read a high fantasy book, you might wanna check this book out.

Leave a comment